Aurora Poetry & Short Fiction Competition

“…And beat the twilight into flakes of a fire” Alfred Lord Tennyson

Aurora-fliersAurora is Writing East Midlands’ competition for poetry and short fiction. Open to writers across the world, the inaugural competition saw entries from as far afield as New Zealand and the USA, as well as much closer to home.

To celebrate this breadth of talent we award 1st, 2nd and 3rd prizes (£500, £100, £50) as well as Highly Commended and Commended entries for both poetry and short fiction. And we teamed up with Northants-based publisher Stonewood Press and Writing School East Midlands to present the Stonewood Prize for regional writing (£70 plus a Writing School East Midlands course).

Our judges were the award-winning poet Pascale Petit and novelist and co-founder of London Short Story Festival Paul McVeigh.

Bromley HouseThe winners will be announced at our Prize-giving ceremony on 28th April. This will take place at Bromley House Library in Nottingham as part of their 200 year celebrations, where we’ll be joined by the winners and poetry judge Pascale Petit.


About the 2016 Judges:

Photo: Derek Adams

Photo: Derek Adams

Pascale Petit’s sixth poetry collection Fauverie was shortlisted for the 2014 T S Eliot Prize. What the Water Gave Me: Poems after Frida Kahlo was shortlisted for both the T S Eliot Prize and Wales Book of the Year, and was a Book of the Year in the Observer. Her books have been chosen as Books of the Year in the Times Literary Supplement, Independent and Observer. She received a Cholmondeley Award in 2015. Her seventh collection Mama Amazonica is due from Bloodaxe Books in 2017.

Paul McVeigh
Paul McVeigh’s debut novel, ‘The Good Son’ (Salt) was shortlisted for The Guardian’s ‘Not The Booker’ Prize 2015. His short stories that have been published in literary journals and anthologies, read on BBC Radio 5 and commissioned by BBC Radio 4. He is co-founder of London Short Story Festival and Associate Director at Word Factory, the UK’s leading short story salon.


Aurora Poetry & Short Fiction Open Competition is brought to you by Writing East Midlands. The Stonewood Press Regional Writing Prize is sponsored by publisher Stonewood Press. Writing School Course Vouchers are supplied by Writing School East Midlands.

WEM Logo- 200pxstonewood-homeWSEM-logoACE