The East Midlands Book Award (EMBA) is a prestigious literary prize awarded to the Best Book written by an East Midlands Author. The next EMBA prize will be awarded in 2018

EMBA LOGO-400PX£1000 is awarded to a writer of Fiction, Creative Non-Fiction, Poetry or Plays. This can include work aimed at children and young people.The aim of the award is to promote writers who live in the East Midlands, to raise the profile of the thriving literary scene in the region, and to reward exceptional work.

Nominations are invited from local, national and international publishers. A panel of judges is chosen each year to shortlist submissions and make the final award. A shortlist of up to six books is announced in March of the prize giving year and promoted through bookshops, libraries and reading groups. The award ceremony takes place in early summer.

To be eligible, the first edition of the books must have been physically published between 1st January and 31st December of the two years preceding the award. i.e. books published between 1 January 2016 & 31st December 2017 will be eligible for the 2018 Award.




The East Midlands Book Awards 2016 Winners

killing-moon1We’re delighted to announce that the winner of the 2016 East Midlands Book Awards is the ‘Killing Moon’ by best-selling and award winning Derby author – Steven Dunne.   ‘Killing Moon’ is the fifth in Steven Dunne’s DI Brook novels, and is an edge of your seat thriller as DI Brook is confronted with kidnapping and murder.  For more information and to purchase the novel ‘Killing Moon’, please see here:  http://www.hive.co.uk/Product/Steven-Dunne/A-Killing-Moon/17136910



Princess and giantThe winner of the Geoffrey Trease Prize for Children’s Writing is Carly Heart, for her charming children’s book ‘The Princess and the Giant’, which is written by Carly Heart, illustrated by Sarah Warburton and published by Nosy Crow.  For more information please see here: http://nosycrow.com/product/the-princess-and-the-giant/

Click here to see the 2016 shortlist.


Rules and Entry Information


EMBA 2015

The winner of this year’s East Midlands Book Award was Common Ground by poet DA Prince. She was presented the award by Blake Morrison at a ceremony at  the beautiful Grade II listed Bromley House Library in Nottingham.

Smart by Kim Slater won the Geoffrey Trease Prize for Children’s Writing.

EMBA 2014

The winner of the East Midlands Book Award 2014 is Alison McQueen for Under The Jewelled Sky.

Steven Dunne was a runner up for The Unquiet Grave.

and Amber Stewart won the Geoffrey Trease Prize for Children’s Writing for Too Small for My Big Bed.

EMBA 2011

In its first year the award went to Mark Goodwin for his poetic adventure Shod. The ceremony was held as part of the Lowdham Book Festival in June 2011, with poet and broadcaster Ian McMillan judging and presenting the award.

EMBA 2012

The award went to Anne Zouroudi for The Whispers of Nemesis. The ceremony was held at the magnificent Haddon Hall as part of Derbyshire Literature Festival, May 2012. The award was judged and presented by composer Gavin Bryars.

EMBA 2013

The winner of the East Midlands Book Award 2013 was Jon McGregor for This Isn’t the Sort Of Thing That Happens To Someone Like you published by Bloomsbury. The ceremony took place on 20 June at the prestigious Barnsdale Lodge, as part of the Oakham Festival, with the £1000 cheque and trophy presented by crime writer John Harvey.

This independent book award is administered by Writing East Midlands.

If you would like to discuss partnering or sponsorship, please contact  jacqueline@www.writingeastmidlands.co.uk

Contact Jacqueline Gabbitas for further information at jacqueline@www.writingeastmidlands.co.uk or 0115 959 7929