• Send covering letter and four copies of the book to: EMBA, Writing East Midlands, 49 Stoney St, The Lace Market, Nottingham, NG1 1LX

• The covering letter needs to simply state East Midlands Book Award, relevant contact details for the agent or publisher, and the full home address and email address of the writer.

• To be eligible the first edition of the books must have been physically published between 1st January and 31st December of the two years preceding the award. i.e. books published between 1 January 2016 & 31st December 2017 will be eligible for the 2018 East Midlands Book Award.

• Nominations must be received between 1st April and 13th December of the year preceding the prize award.

• Judges may call in other eligible works but, otherwise, late submissions will not be considered.

• Books must be submitted by agents or publishers, nominations from individuals will not be considered.

• Please note, the setting or the subject of the book need not have any connection to the region.

• Self-published books, chapbooks and pamphlets are not eligible.**

• Published play texts can be submitted to the award.

• Work by writers under sixteen is not eligible for this award.

• Four copies of each nominated book must be submitted.

• To be eligible for the award, the book’s author must be on the electoral register in one of the East Midlands’ counties (Derbyshire, Leicestershire, Lincolnshire, Northamptonshire, Nottinghamshire, and Rutland) during the period of publication.

• It is understood that all nominees will endeavour to make themselves available for the prize giving should they be short listed.

•The total prize is £1000. While there may be some hospitality, publishers and authors will be responsible for their own travel and accommodation. No expenses will be paid by the organisers.

• Publishers are expected to use whatever social media is at their disposal to help promote the shortlist.

•Any reprints of winning titles will have EMBA Winner printed on the cover.

Please note, while we welcome books published by international publishers where the submission meets all criteria, the book must be available for purchase through the UK book trade.

Although most books published after 1st December in any given year will be printed ahead of that time, if that is not possible we will accept proof copies or galleys to enable publishers to meet our deadlines.

Non- residents are not eligible.

The term ‘creative non-fiction’ will be generously interpreted by the judges but is not intended to include guide books, textbooks, anthologies or similar. Edited anthologies would normally be ineligible, save for collections where the majority of the writers and the editor(s) live within the region. Published play texts can be submitted to the award.

EMBA welcomes submissions from publishers or agents except:

  • where material is directly self-published by the writer
  • where the writer is expected to contribute financially to the production or publishing process
  • where a publishing company has been set up expressly to publish the work of its owner or the partner of the owner
  • where publishing is dependent on the author buying a number of copies of the work.
    This exclusion therefore covers all forms of “vanity”, subsidy, “joint venture” or “shared responsibility publishing”.

**The Trustees value the editorial support and independence that professional publishers supply and it is a requirement of all books submitted that they be generally available through the book trade and library suppliers.


The trustees of the award are  John Lucas  and Kathleen Bell, each acting in an individual capacity.

This independent book award is administered by Writing East Midlands.

Writing East Midlands supports, promotes, and champions writing from the region. It creates opportunities for practising writers and discovers new writers of quality.

Contact Jacqueline Gabbitas for further information at info@www.writingeastmidlands.co.uk or 0115 959 7929